Home News Buhari renames airports after Diete-Spiff, Danfodio, Awolowo, Idiagbon

Buhari renames airports after Diete-Spiff, Danfodio, Awolowo, Idiagbon


Just hours before his exit from Aso Rock, former President Muhammadu Buhari approved the renaming of 15 airports after some prominent Nigerian leaders.

The approval was given on Friday, according to a statement from the ministry of aviation, signed by the head of press and public affairs, Odutayo Oluseyi.

The airports include Akure International Airport, named after Olumuyiwa Bernard Aliu; Benin International Airport was also named after Oba Akinzua II; Dutse International Airport was renamed to Muhammed Nuhu Sanusi; Ebonyi International Airport Okadigbo will now be known as Chuba Wilberforce; while Gombe International Airport was renamed Brigadier Zakari Maimalari.

Also on the list are Ibadan International Airport (Samuel Ladoke Akintola); Ilorin International Airport (General Tunde Abdullahi Idiagbon); Kaduna International Airport (Gen. Hassan Usman Katsina); and Maiduguri International Airport (President Muhammadu Buhari).

Others are the Makurdi International Airport which will now be known as Joseph Sarwuan Tarka; Minna International Airport has been renamed to Mall. Abubakar Imam; Nasarrawa International Airport was named after Sheikh Usman Danfodio; Osubi International Airport was renamed Alfred Diete-Spiff.

While the Port Harcourt International Airport was renamed Obafemi Jeremiah Awolowo, Yola International Airport is now known as Lamido Aliyu Mustapha Airport.

Buhari has since left Abuja for his hometown, Daura after handing over power to President Bola Tinubu.

Previous articleWe shall defend the nation from terror – Tinubu (FULL TEXT OF INAUGURAL SPEECH)
Next articleTwitter removes Osinbajo’s verification tag after handover