Osun APC crisis worsens as Aregbesola, Oyetola factions hold parallel congresses


The crisis in the Osun chapter of the All Progressives Congresses (APC) took a turn for worse on Saturday as two factions of the party held parallel congresses.

The Ilerioluwa Group is the faction loyal to Gboyega Oyetola, Osun governor, while The Osun Progressives (TOP) has the backing of Rauf Aregbesola, the minister of interior and former governor of the state.

Both factions elected new party executives at different locations in the state.


Gboyega Famodun was re-elected as the state chairman of the party as the Ilerioluwa Group held its congress at the Osogbo City Stadium.

Tajudeen Lawal was elected as the deputy chairman, while Alao Olabisi was elected as the secretary.

The Osun Progressives, on the other hand, held its parallel congress at the Onward area of Osogbo, Osun state capital.

Rasaq Salinsile was elected as the chairman of the faction while Adelani Baderinwa, a former commissioner for information in the state, was elected as the secretary.

According to NAN, both factions adopted consensus arrangement and affirmation by congress members to ratify the exercise.

Pandemonium however broke out during the parallel congress organised by the loyalists of Rauf Aregbesola as suspected thugs attempted to disrupt proceedings.

The thugs were said to have invaded the venue and attempted to hijack the congress.

The Osun Progressives members scampered for safety while some of them sustained various degrees of injuries.

Security operatives deployed to the venue eventually succeeded in repelling the disruptors.


Open chat