JUST IN: Niger, Mali, Burkina Faso pull out of ECOWAS

Spread the love


Three West African countries — Niger, Mali and Burkina Faso — say they are severing ties with the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

“After 49 years, the valiant peoples of Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger regretfully and with great disappointment observe that the (ECOWAS) organization has drifted from the ideals of its founding fathers and the spirit of Pan-Africanism,” Amadou Abdramane, spokesman of the Niger junta, said in a statement on Sunday.

“The organization notably failed to assist these states in their existential fight against terrorism and insecurity,” Abdramane added.


More to follow…