Army releases names, photos of officers killed in Delta community

Spread the love


The Nigerian Army has released the names and pictures of the 17 soldiers killed in a Delta state community.


Last Thursday, 17 military personnel — comprising a lieutenant ​colonel, two majors, one captain, and 12 soldiers — were killed while on a “peacekeeping mission” in Okuoma, Bomadi LGA of Delta.

The Delta state and federal governments had condemned the incident while promising that perpetrators would face the wrath of the law.


Some hours after the incident, several houses in the community were reportedly on fire.

In a statement released on Monday, the Nigerian Army said the killing was masterminded by members of the community, noting that the troops would not retaliate.

Below is the list of names and ranks of the soldiers killed:

Name and Rank

1. AH Ali Lieutenant Colonel (Commanding officer, 181 Amphibious Battalion)

2. SD Shafa Major

3. DE Obi Major

4. U. Zakari Captain

5. Yahaya Saidu Staff Sergeant

6. Yahaya Danbaba Corporal

7. Kabiru Bashir Corporal

8. Bulus Haruna Lance Corporal

9. Sole Opeyemi Lance Corporal

10. Bello Anas Lance Corporal

11. Hamman Peter Lance Corporal

12. Ibrahim Abdullahi Lance Corporal

13. Alhaji Isah Private

14. Clement Francis Private

15. Abubakar Ali Private

16. Ibrahim Adamu Private

17. Adamu Ibrahim Private