BDAN advocates collaborative banking policies during senate visit

Spread the love

By Taiwo Osho



Delegates from the Bank Directors Association of Nigeria (BDAN), led by Chairman of the Board of Directors, Mr. Mustafa Chike-Obi, undertook an advocacy visit yesterday to the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance, and Other Financial Institutions, Senator Mukhail Adetokunbo Abiru.

This visit aligned with BDAN’s Advocacy Agenda, underscores the Association’s commitment to fostering collaboration with stakeholders in the banking industry, including the legislative arm responsible for legislation and oversight functions.


BDAN in a statement signed by its Chief Executive, Adebukola Orenuga, noted that it Recognises the pivotal role of regulatory bodies and legislative institutions in shaping the banking landscape and that BDAN’s advocacy efforts aim to ensure a conducive legal framework and regulatory environment that promotes innovation, stability, and growth within the sector.

It states: “During the advocacy visit, discussions revolved around policy review and the importance of collaboration between the Banking industry, the legislature and regulatory bodies, thereby emphasising the need for dialogue, transparency, and mutual understanding to address emerging challenges and opportunities.”

“Senator Mukhail Adetokunbo Abiru and other members of the committee welcomed BDAN’s initiative to engage with the Senate Committee, acknowledging the significance of constructive dialogue between policymakers and industry stakeholders.

“As BDAN continues its advocacy efforts, the Association reaffirms its commitment to working closely with regulatory bodies, legislative institutions, and all stakeholders in the Banking industry to promote a robust and resilient financial ecosystem that serves the best interests of all Nigerians.

Members of the Senate Committee who attended include Vice Chairman Sen. Usman Lawal Adamu, Sen. Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, Sen. Osita Izunaso, Sen. Hussaini Babangida Uba, Sen. Nasiru Sani Zangon Daura, Sen. Mohammed Tahir Mongono, Sen. Khabeeb Mustapha, Sen. Binos Yaroe, Sen. Titus Zam, Sen. Tony Nwoye, and Sen. Dandutse Muntari Mohammed, among others. Also present were Mr. Dayo Omolokun, Dr. (Mrs.) Oluwayemisi Olorunshola, Mr. Chuks Emma Okoh, Alhaji Umaru Kwairanga, Alhaji Mohammed Datti Yola, and Ms. Adebukola Orenuga, the Executive Secretary/Chief Executive of the Association.